Home Adapting Recipes What can I eat?

What can I eat?

Gluten_Free_Guide_Jeff_Engel_Creative_Commons

Green light foods – which are safe to eat in their natural form

Meat, fish and eggs

Fruit and vegetables, including potatoes and sweet potatoes

Rice, including wild, red, black and sticky varieties

Buckwheat – tainted by association – believe it or not, it is actually a fruit!

Quinoa, amaranth and millet

Care is needed at first in relation to dairy produce, including butter and milk – although they are gluten-free in their natural form, malabsorption may give rise to lactose intolerance, at least until damaged intestines heal

Red light foods – which are off the list

Flour or any produce dusted with regular flour 

Bread and breadcrumbsmuffinsbagels, pretzelscroissantscroutons and wraps 

Pastries, cakes and biscuits

Pizza, pasta and spaghetti, couscous and bulgur

Spelt

Amber light foods – where extra caution needs to be exercised

Processed foods

Bread wraps – there are some being produced that are gluten-free

Chips and fried products – unless these are cooked separately they may be cross-contaminated

Crisps and torilla chips

Chocolate – sadly many contain gluten

Cornflakesrice krispies and other breakfast cereals – many contain barley

Dried Fruits – again cross-contamination is an issue so avoid bulk bought

Fish Fingers, goujons, fried fish and fishcakes – the bread coating or dusting is usually done with regular flour

Ice-cream some contain gluten as a thickener or as cookies as an ingredient

Ice lollies – may have barely as an ingredient

Instant noodles and packet soups – gluten containing stock is the risk

Non-dairy milks –  almond, hemp, oat, coconut and rice milks although some are gluten – free

Oats -cross-contamination is an issue. A small proportion of coeliacs react to the protein Avenin

Pickled vegetables, including capers used as garnishes and pickled onions – malt vinegar is the problem

Processed cheese – may contain gluten

Processed and compressed meatssausages, and hot dogs – often contain bread-based fillers or stock

Quiche and tarts made with a pastry base – are usually made with wheat flour

Soya, tamari, oyster and Thai fish sauce normally contain gluten

Saucesmarinades, gravies, dressings and ketchups, mustards, chutneys and salad dressings, mayonnaise and Worcester sauce –flour or wheat additives may be used

Sausages –  many contain bread-based fillers although good gluten-free ones can be found

Tofu – is gluten-free unless it contains flavourings

Yoghurt – some have non-gluten free flavourings or colourings or may be processed on lines that are problematic

Cooking ingredients

Baking powder – may contain gluten

Coconut milk – sometimes contains gluten 

Flavourings – these may contain gluten

Malt vinegar – contains barley 

Nuts – cross-contamination is an issue so avoid bulk bought nuts

Pie fillers – may be thickened with wheat flour

Pulses – dried lentils and beans often suffer cross-contamination

Spices – these can be tainted during handling

Stock cubes – some are gluten free but most are not

Drinks

Beer – regular beer contains barley and is not usually gluten-free

Teas – added flavourings, bag sealants, barley or malt additives are risks

Cordials and squashes – barley is often an ingredient

Miscellaneous 

Cooking tins or bread boards dusted with regular flour

Envelopes – be careful not lick these to stick them as the glue sometimes contains gluten

Lip balms – may contain gluten

Medications – some of these, including some supplements are not gluten-free

 

 

 

Photograph by Jeff Engel